ERC Official Sponsors:
Follow us:
Six-figure prize money package confirmed for 2016 ERC

January 20, 2016

One of the biggest prize funds in international rallying has been confirmed for the 2016 FIA European Rally Championship ahead of the opening round in Latvia on 5-7 February.

- Marek Sarapuu (from left), Jean-Baptiste Ley, Siim Plangi @Rally Liepaja 2015 ©FIAERC.COM

ERC promoter Eurosport Events, in conjunction with various partners and stakeholders, will continue to offer financial rewards totalling 200,000 Euros for ERC registered drivers this season, with a total of 20,000 Euros available at each of the 10 events on the calendar.

As in 2015, the seven highest-placed eligible drivers in the final overall classification of each rally will be awarded prize money.

All drivers registered for the ERC using tyres from one of the championship’s partner suppliers (Michelin and Pirelli) will be eligible, including those in ERC2 and ERC3.

Last year, 38 different drivers that competed in the ERC benefited from the prize fund, with Siim Plangi / Marek Sarapuu receiving the top prize of 7,000 Euros in Rally Liepāja 2015!

ERC Co-ordinator Jean-Baptiste Ley said: “It takes a significant financial commitment to compete in a top-level championship such as the ERC and this substantial prize fund provision will go a long way towards helping some of those drivers on a restricted budget compete on more events and therefore grow their experience for the future.”

Prize money distribution at ERC events in 2016:
First position: €7000
Second position: €5000
Third position: €3000
Fourth position: €2000
Fifth position: €1000
Sixth position: €1000
Seventh position: €1000

To be eligible for ERC prize money for the opening event of the season, Rally Liepāja, crews must register by 21 January. For information go to: